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Most of the rules for claiming the various awards available to archers are fairly straightforward, but there are

some unusual circumstances where it's not clear, and some of these are not documented anywhere official.

So, sometimes individual clubs have to interpret the "spirit" of the rules and define club specific rules for

unusual circumstances.

This document records what has been decided by Fakenham Bowmen as our rules, when we've come across

some of these grey areas. Paul & Elaine.

P.S. Any awards presented before these rules were decided and which seem to contravene them are fine,

keep them, no-one is going to take them away.

252s
The spirit is

(1) to encourage people to gradually increase distance while maintaining accuracy,

(2) to start from "cold" ie before shooting anything else, and

(3) to encourage skill improvement on different bow types (not all clubs do this).

The rules are not set by one organisation, so there are a lot of different interpretations, these are ours.

• Two scores needed. 3 dozen arrows with 6 sighters.

• Must be the first round shot in a shooting day with no other arrows shot at all before your 6 sighters.

• You can claim the same distance 252 badges on different bow types (but you have to pay for the 2
nd

)

• Claiming badge for shorter distance once you've claimed a longer one: For the same bow type = No,

the spirit is to increase distance. However, because you can claim on different bow types, you can

for example claim 50yd 252 on one e.g. Compound and later 20yd on another e.g. Barebow if you've

not already got that or higher on Barebow.

You can interleave scores, i.e. shoot 20yd (1
st
 score) then 30yd (1

st
 score) then 20yd (2

nd
 score) then 30yd

(2nd score) i.e. so long as the 2
nd

 20yd is completed before the 2
nd

 30yd.

• Claiming a first score for a distance on one bow type and second score for that distance on another

bow type = No (because you can claim 252s on different bow types).

• Claiming the 1
st
 252 score in one Shooting Season and the 2

nd
 in a following Shooting Season = Yes

(though this is unlike most other awards)

• Shooting a 252 as the first 3 dozen arrows at that distance of a longer round = Yes, but only if the

252 is your first shoot of the day (e.g. a 40yd 252 as the first 3doz arrows of the first distance of a

Windsor40 or National40, but not Warwick40 as that is only 2 doz at 40yds)

Portsmouths
The spirit is

to encourage people to gradually increase their accuracy at a specific distance.

Like 252s, the rules are not set by one organisation, so there are a lot of different interpretations, these are

ours.

• Two scores needed for club shoot, one score in an open competition.

• Claiming a badge for a lower score once you've claimed a higher one = No

• The Portsmouth badge is not specific to a bow type

(Note: so, e.g. Compounds will inevitably usually get higher badges than e.g. Longbows).

• Claiming the same Portsmouth badge twice by using different bow types = No

(Note: because it's not specific to a bow type)

• Claiming one value badge with one bow type and a different value badge with a different bow type.

Yes

(Note: because it's not specific to a bow type)



• Claiming the 1
st
 Portsmouth score on one bowtype and the 2

nd
 on another bowtype = Yes

(Note: This is a bit less clear, but we think (1) it's not specific to a bow type (2) to make it the same

as AGB Classifications where you can make up the dozens using whatever bowtype.)

• Claiming the 1
st
 Portsmouth score indoors(/outdoors) and the 2

nd
 outdoors(/indoors) = No, both

should be in the same environment

• Claiming the 1
st
 Portsmouth score in one shooting season (e.g. indoors 2023-24) and the 2

nd
 in the

immediately following shooting season (e.g. outdoors 2024) = No, this implies a different

environment.

• Claiming the 1
st
 Portsmouth score in one shooting season & environment (e.g. indoors 2022-23) and

the 2
nd

 in the next year's shooting season & same environment (e.g. indoors 2023-24) = No

(Note: The reasoning is that (1) all the Portsmouth open competitions are completed on one season

(2) all the mentions of Portsmouths I can find, talk about one season, (3) it makes tracking it much

easier)

AGB Classifications
The spirit is :

to encourage people to gradually improve their ability or maintain it.

The main rules published by AGB are pretty clear, but there is a lot of scope for interpreting details for

awarding badges for Archer and Bowman Classifications, since badge awarding is managed by individual

clubs, not AGB.

The main rules defined by AGB are:

• 10doz for Indoor Archer at any club shoot, 15doz for Indoor Bowman at "any competitive event"

(See **).

• 12doz for Archer at any club shoot, 18doz for Bowman at "any competitive event"  (See **).

• Approved Rounds only, if it's in the AGB tables it counts.

• The Classifications are independent of bow type, and the scores required for a particular

Classification are adjusted for different bow types.

• So, while most people will want to use the same bow type, this means you can achieve a particular

Classification using different bow types if you wish (e.g. 4 doz on longbow, 6 doz on compound, 4

doz on recurve, if you want to).

• You must re-qualify for any Classifications every year, they expire and you must start again.

Outdoor Classifications reset on 1
st
 January, Indoor on 1

st
 July

• So, you must shoot all the qualifying Rounds in the same shooting season, no carrying forward.

• Can I shoot a Round in the AGB Tables even though it's greyed-out for the Classification I'm trying

for = Yes definitely

(Note: the coloured Rounds are suggested for that age group, but greyed-out ones are fine. The AGB

FAQ on Classifications states "...those [greyed out] rounds involve longer distances than coaches

would recommend for that age group and level...".  For example, the York is completely greyed out

for 50+, oh for heavens sake, puuh-lease.)

• Can I shoot in a more difficult age category than my own and claim a Classification (e.g. a

Women50+ shooting as Women, or U16 shooting as U18) = Yes

(Note: and for some Classifications, it is sometimes the only way to achieve it).

(Note: this also applies to shooting Rounds in competitions for competition-specific awards like

trophies, but in competitions you must declare that's what you're doing beforehand).

• Can I shoot in an easier age category than my own (e.g. U21 shooting as U18) = you can always

shoot an easier Round than your level for fun but it will not count towards a Classification for you.

(Note: this also applies to shooting Rounds in competitions but in competitions you should declare

that's what you're doing beforehand).

** Interpreting "any competitive event" for Bowman Classification. This is what AGB says (in

https://archerygb.org/resources/outdoor-classifications-and-handicaps): "With the Bowman

classification, the archer should be quite familiar with shooting rounds and probably is ready for a more

formal shooting environment. Archers should now be shooting their scores at competitions, club target

days, friendly matches or any other event in line with rule 304. It doesn’t need to be too formal, but as a

guideline it should be an event organised in advance, with multiple people taking part and with rules

around practice and scoring being followed as if it were a competition."



** continued... Club specific interpretation of "any competitive event":

For a Bowman score to qualify, we interpret a "club target day" to be a day announced in advance, where

a significant proportion of those archers present are shooting formal AGB Rounds, ideally but not

necessarily the same or similar rounds, and scoring formally as if in a competition. In a small club it

doesn't take many to be a "significant proportion".

Club specific interpretations of badge rules:

• Our club provides the badge for free the first time you achieve a particular level in order

(e.g. claiming your first Archer 3
rd

 Class then your first Archer 2
nd

 class).

• Claiming badge for a lower level in the same season after you've got a higher one = No

• Claiming all the badges at once below a level you've just achieved = No

• Claiming badge for a lower level in the next season once you've got a higher one in the previous

season = we think there is an argument for allowing this (See *** discussion below)

*** Discussion:  We have decided that you cannot claim a badge for a lower level you haven't claimed

yet, if you've got a higher one in the same shooting season. However, because AGB Classifications are

reset each year, there is debate as to whether or not this should be allowed in the years following

achieving a particular Classification. AGB do not provide guidance in this, saying that for anything

below Master Bowman, it is entirely up to individual clubs to decide. ArcheryGeekery, a trusted

organisation, provide a useful cross check between the Classification Rules and AGB's Rules of

Shooting and conclude that clubs can basically do what they  want. E.g. they specify that a club could if

it wanted, decide that if you achieve Bowman 2
nd

 Class, you are entitled to and can receive all the badges

below that (we have no intention of doing this, it's just an example of what's theoretically possible).

The arguments FOR being able to claim lower badges in later years are

(1) the spirit is to encourage improvement or at least maintaining your level, which leads to 2.

(2) as people age or are injured or become less fit for whatever reason, it becomes much harder to

maintain a previous level, and so this approach provides incentive to keep shooting challenging

targets, thus improving or maintaining your now reduced ability, and we very much want to

encourage this.

(3) your original AGB Classification is lost each year - you may be Archer 1
st
 Class in 2023 but you are

not in 2024 unless you re-qualify. Therefore when that happens, claiming a lower badge is NOT

below your current Classification.

The argument AGAINST claiming lower badges is

(1) that for most other awards, the rules specifically prohibit it. Once you have you 252 50yd

Compound, or your whatever, that's it, no going back.

...but the counter-argument to this, ie FOR claiming a lower badge, is that with all those other

awards you keep that award level for ever (you are always a 252 50yd or whatever), you don't lose it

in subsequent years., whereas you DO lose your Classification each year.

Conclusion: We've decided that if you want a second badge for that or a lower Classification in

subsequent years, ie after your Classification has expired, then you CAN claim it if you want to, but with

a couple of provisos.

(1) In our club, the club gives out the badge free the first time you achieve a Classification, and for each

higher Classification achieved in order. To limit costs to the club though, we think you should pay for

the second badge(s) yourself. (The same principle applies to second 252 badges on a different bow type).

So, for example, if you get Archer 1
st
 class in one year, then Archer 2

nd
 class the next, you can claim it if

you really want to, but you pay for the Archer 2
nd

 class badge yourself.

(2) There's a risk of this becoming a bling-fest, just collecting all the badges each year just for the sake of

it, so yes do, but we ask you not to go completely crazy over this

Which all means:

• Claiming badge for a lower or same level in the next season once you've got a higher one in the

previous season = Yes, BUT you have to pay for it, and don't go mad


